Asian Sensation: Khoi Lee Talks With IUMediaGroup.com

Quick Stats:

Age: 27

Height: 5’4”

Weight: 154 lbs (Stage Weight)

 

How did you get started with bodybuilding?

I started bodybuilding right during college. I was known as a skinny kid my whole life. Started high school as a 95 lbs freshman and by my senior year, I was only 115 lbs. I knew I had to do something about it and I was able to do a lot of research about training/bodybuilding, met a few people who competed before and did my first show when I was 21 years old

I was only 115 lbs. I knew I had to do something about it.

 

Where does your motivation come from?

My motivation comes within the mind. My goal is to improve every year and every time I compete by taking time off and work on my weakness in order to balance out my symmetry. That’s what motivates me to get better.

I would rather compete in a heavier class if it means the competition will be better.

 

What workout routine has worked best for you?

I like to go heavy whether it is offseason or contest prep to help me build thickness/size. My reps range usually around 6-15 reps for most exercises. My routine is mainly focused on the body parts (lagging body parts) I need to work on.

Full Routine:

Monday: Push

Tuesday: Legs

Wednesday: Pull

Thursday: Push

Friday: Pull

Saturday: Rest

Sunday: Push or Pull

 

What do you credit to your leg transformation?

Those who know me know I love training legs. I always make sure I warmed up my legs good enough before I start my legs training. I always like to push for extra reps on my exercises especially squat. One of my favorite things to do for legs is to squat 315 lbs for 15-20 reps or as many reps as possible at the end of my workout and then do a drop set right after.

there are no shortcuts when it comes to building muscle. it takes time.

 

If you had to pick only 3 exercises what would they be and why?

My 3 choices exercises, if I have to pick, would be deadlift, squat and incline bench. Those are the compound movements I always have in my training because they help to target all the main body parts/muscle groups.

 

What is your diet like?

Beginning of prep, my calories stay pretty high as around 3000 calories (roughly 300 carbs daily, the rest from protein and fats). Then as I get closer to show, carbs will decrease but more good fats will be added in. I eat mostly chicken breasts/a bit of steaks as my protein source and olive oil as my fats. For carbs, mostly comes from either white rice or potatoes. Keep things simple but effective.

 

 

If there’s one misconception that people have about you, what would you like to clarify to them?

Some people think I am too intimidated especially when I’m training. Those who know me personally, I am one of the nicest and most real people you will meet. I like to help out others but when it comes to training, I like to put my headphone on and just stay focus since I train solo. I keep it fast pace so there is no time to talk or mess around.

Judge a book by its cover and you’ll be the first to be fooled.

 

How do your training and diet evolve as you get closer to a competition?

As I get closer to my competition, my training and mindset stay the same but I will make sure I train smarter to avoid injuries. Also focus on mind/muscle connection and get quality reps in. As for diet, it stays the same until my body starts to plateau. Then adjustments will be made from there. I get 1-2 refeeds (high carbs) per week. Then the rest of the weekday is low carbs and my body responds well to it.

Every prep is different. Its very interesting seeing how my body reacts to different styles of diets and bodybuilding workout protocols.

 

Tell us about your hobbies outside of bodybuilding?

Outside of bodybuilding, I like to socialize with my family/friends and help out others. My favorite hobby is I like to enjoy all varieties of food especially sushi. I plan to do a few food eating challenges in my offseason for fun.

 

Favorite Quote:

“If you believe, you can achieve!”

 

Social Media:

Instagram: @Khoibeast Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Khoibeast/